Holiday Cookies

The holidays are all about good food and delicious treats. People bake pies, make cakes, and of course, bake cookies.

Baking great-tasting cookies around the holidays is a tradition that I’ve kept alive in my family and in my work as the executive chef of TD Garden and regional chef for Delaware North Companies Sportservice. There’s nothing like a homemade cookie.

You could say I have cookies in my blood. My grandfather owned a bakery named Woolfie’s (his last name was Woolf). It started out in Newton, Mass., but he eventually moved it to Cape Cod. I worked there from the time I was 10 years old until I was 20. It was where I fell in love with cooking and preparing food.

My grandfather always had cookies in his bakery. My favorites were butter crunch and chocolate chip. I include both of these on my menus at TD Garden in Boston. I don’t include them just because they’re family recipes, I include them because they are really, really good.

Not surprisingly, whenever my wife makes cookies around the holidays for a cookie swap or just to enjoy, she make the same kinds. I lend a hand; but my wife gets all the credit.

Here is my recipe for butter crunch cookies. It’s the one my grandfather used and it’s the one I use at TD Garden. Feel free to make some of your own to enjoy this holiday season.

Chef Kevin Doherty Chef Kevin Doherty, CEC
Delaware North Companies Sportservice Regional Chef






Butter Crunch Cookies

Ingredients

Granulated Sugar 10 oz
Brown Sugar 8 oz
Baking Powder 3/4 oz
Salt 1/4 oz
Shortening 14 oz
Eggs 5
Vanilla one cap full

Cake Flour 10 oz
Pastry Flour 10 oz
Heath Bar 15

Method

Step 1: Mix the first seven ingredients together in a large bowl for 5 minutes or until smooth.
Step 2:
Add flour and butter crunch. Mix.
Step 3:
Scoop onto baking sheet and bake at 350◦ F for 8 to 10 minutes.

Yields: 36 cookies and tons of smiles.

Leave a Reply

