Always Time To Teach.

As you may have learned from my previous blogs, things are busy at Delaware North Companies. I’m flying all over the country to make sure our guests and customers are receiving the absolute best dining experiences possible. I recently came off a series of weeks where I was at Target Field, Kennedy Space Center, Chicago and our corporate office in Buffalo. I came home to realize my tulips had bloomed.
 
Even though I’m busy, I wanted to take time to recognize one of our chefs at Yosemite Lodge at the Falls in Yosemite National Park. Executive Chef Michael Gover recently taught 16 Mariposa County High School students, who were members of the French club, how to prepare a four-course gourmet French meal. Gover’s daughter is a high school senior and the president of the French club. He helped the entire class prepare potato leek soup, spinach salad and lardon bits, roasted beets, and pork loin marsala with risotto and asparagus. Dessert was maple crème brulee with dark chocolate truffles.
 
From what I’ve heard, it was a great experience for everyone. That pleases me. People might think as a chef my greatest joy is cooking, but actually I have a greater passion for educating others. I’ve taught at the Culinary Institute of America. I’ve trained chefs to compete in international culinary competitions. I work constantly with our chefs at Delaware North to help them improve their skills. I’ve always said, I can cook a great meal and it will last for an evening. But, I can teach others how to create delicious meals and they will be able to share that skill for years.
 
There are probably hundreds of stories about our chefs doing things like this each year. They teach each other. They mentor students. Often, we learn to teach ourselves. So many members of our culinary teams deserve recognition. This story stood out to me, and I applaud Chef Gover, but it really is my way of honoring everyone who works to educate others in the culinary arts.
 
Alright, back to work. Blog again soon.
 
In Good Cooking Always.
 

Chef Roland Henin, CMC

One Response to Always Time To Teach.

  1. Shane says:

    That cut’s deep Chef,
    Very inspiring Danke, Shane Mueller

Leave a Reply

