Are We Doing a Good Job?

Hello All,

As I told you a few days ago, I am spending this week doing lots of fishing, and so far, a little bit of catching too. It has been an enjoyable few days at home and on the boat as the first eight months of this year have been very busy.

When I travel for Delaware North Companies, I often am on the go so much that I don’t always get time to really think about all of our operations as a whole. It isn’t until I am sitting on my boat that I really begin to evaluate and ask myself, “Are we doing a good job?”

Thankfully, my answer is always positive. There’s no denying the hard work our chefs do around the world and I want to use this blog to thank them. One of the things that continues to amaze me is how many different culinary operations Delaware North manages. For example we have chefs at ballparks that need to be able to ensure quality in concession foods like nachos and burgers. At the same time, they have to be able to step into high-end suites and create dishes that would make famous world restaurants jealous. If you don’t believe me, check out the cookbook we created a few years ago about our Sportservice operations.

Every day really is a challenge for our culinary team. One day they may have to create a buffet. The next day they may be handling a high-end dinner for 100 people. Sometimes, they create famous feasts like the Bracebridge Dinner at The Ahwahnee. Every once-in-a-while, I may even stop in with some crazy demands.

I think many people believe that being a chef means you work at the same restaurant each night and tweak your menu occasionally. That’s rarely true, but especially not at Delaware North. Our chefs not only have to manage the challenges I listed above, but they also travel around the country assisting with major events like sports all-star games, grand openings of hotels and maybe even the White House. Toss in the fact they are also trying to achieve culinary certification and compete in culinary competitions…and it’s a busy life.

I think about all of this and I get proud. I love nothing more than working with our culinary team and I want them to know they are doing a great job. I guess, hopefully, that means I am too.

Okay, I hear the fish calling. I will blog again when I hit the road next week.

In Good Cooking Always,

Chef Roland Henin, CMC

Leave a Reply

