Back from fishing and catching.

Hello All,

I need to make my apologies for not blogging all last week. I used the week to catch up on many things, do some fishing, catching and a little relaxing. But, now I am rested and ready to blog about my travels again.

Before anything else, I wanted to talk about one of the areas of Delaware North’s business that I have the least involvement…Travel Hospitality Services. Our company operates the food and beverage concepts at several major airports like Los Angeles International, Detroit Airport and Ft. Lauderdale to name a few. Since many of these operations don’t require executive chefs to operate, I am not always super involved.

Still, our team must be doing things right. During my week off I read an article from Forbes that said a handful of our concepts – Salt Lick BBQ, Encounter Restaurant, Pink’s and Wolfgang Puck’s – are among the most notable in the country. I know our company has also partnered with other respected brands like Coffee Bean & Tea Leaf and Which Wich.

In the article, Pauline Armbrust says, “Many concession companies are bringing in fresh fruits and salads and using local vendors and products in their foods. Passengers want to feel a sense of place and get a taste of the local community.”

Anyone who knows me understands how much I value the use of local foods and produce. It is something I promote and work to include on our menus across the country. From The Ahwahnee in Yosemite National Park to New Meadowlands Stadium in New Jersey, you will find our chefs working with local produce.

It’s good to see that is also engrained in our work with Travel Hospitality Services. Recently, our team at Ft. Lauderdale partnered with local chef Allen Susser to introduce some of his famous South Florida cuisine to travelers. It has been well received and is another step in the right direction for our company.

All of this talk has me excited to get back on the road for travel, work and maybe a little airport dining. Alright, it is time to get back to work. I will blog again soon.

In Good Cooking Always,

Chef Roland Henin, CMC

Leave a Reply

