Buffalo to Yosemite to Florida….

Hello All,

I have blogged in the past about how much I look forward to and enjoy our Culinary & Hospitality Council Meetings that Delaware North holds in Buffalo, N.Y., every other month. I flew into Buffalo last week to attend another meeting and it was great to see the many different leaders of the company. These meetings are where we make the decisions that affect all the chefs working so hard around the country.

I am in the midst of another busy stretch as from Buffalo I will fly out to Yosemite National Park where we will work with a group of six chefs who are fine tuning their competency for higher professional certification. These weeks of training and testing are some of my favorite as they really enable me to instruct and help younger chefs.  Nothing makes me prouder than to see a chef learn he or she can achieve something they didn’t know they were capable of doing.

I even had the chance to catch up with Ralph Wilson Stadium Executive Chef Larry Johnson who will be one of the chefs taking his certification exam in December. He will be out in Yosemite this week working to further prepare for his exam. He has been practicing tirelessly over the past few months while also managing operations for a 73,000-seat NFL stadium. I have asked him to put together a blog post about what it’s like to have such responsibilities and commitments.

Once we are done in Yosemite it will be Bon Voyage time as I need to fly directly to the CIA in Hyde Park for a Certified Master Chefs meeting. Then I will head to Florida to help with efforts at Kennedy Space Center Visitor Complex. Later this year I’ll be hopefully back in Yosemite for some of the impressive holiday events like the Bracebridge Dinner and the winter grandeur.

The past month has been a busy time for me and I apologize that I haven’t been able to comment on all the things happening at Delaware North and our culinary world. I am grateful for the other chefs who’ve shared guest posts. I promise to blog more regularly over the next few weeks.

Alright, there are planes to catch and chefs to coach. I must go now.

In Good Cooking Always,

Chef Roland Henin, CMC

 

Leave a Reply

