Baseball Season Is Here.

As many of you know, baseball season is back. Chef James Major captures the essence of the sport’s return and really offers some insight into the hard work our chefs are putting in around the country.

People can feel it. The snow is melting. The leaves are beginning to bloom on the trees. There is a certain, welcome feeling in the air. Spring time has arrived.

Spring time means a rebirth of sorts for the Earth and that baseball season is upon us. I’m currently in Baltimore after leaving Cincinnati and Cleveland to partake in each city’s rich traditions as they welcome baseball season back. Each home opener I’ve assisted with has been a lot of work, but in the end the fans were happy, the food was good and the home teams have won. Plain and simple, I love this time of year.

As many of you may know, I served in the Navy and I am a proud American. Nothing says America like baseball. The smell of the freshly popped popcorn, the roar of the crowds and all the culinary marvels the fans can get in their ballparks from chicken and waffle sandwiches, braised chicken and beef tacos, hand rolled pretzels, steak and egg sandwiches and here in Baltimore…the best crab cake in the city. Sometime I can’t believe how lucky I am to be part of it all.

The creativity we put into our food at these ballparks and sporting units is amazing. All our chefs buckle down and work as one to make it an incredible culinary experience for the fans. I tip my hat to my fellow chefs out there who make what we do in Delaware North Companies Sportservice look easy. All I can really say is…PLAY BALL.

May The Force Be With You,

James Major

Leave a Reply

